In February, the finance minister highlighted in his budget speech the importance of the country’s cities in achieving inclusive and higher economic growth.

He said: “SA’s eight metros are home to 39%of our population but account for half of all employment (formal and informal) and 57% of the country’s economic output,” adding that “we must take advantage of this dynamic to drive inclusive growth”.

This is exactly what the Treasury, in co-operation and partnership with other government departments, is aiming to achieve. The department and the Department of Co-operative Governance recently hosted an executive leadership programme at the Gordon Institute of Business Science for eight metro municipalities (Johannesburg, Cape Town, eThekwini, Tshwane, Ekurhuleni, Nelson Mandela Bay, Buffalo City and Mangaung) and two intermediate city municipalities (Polokwane and uMhlathuze). ….more