ProfMoosa

Dr Shabir Moosa, MMed, MBA, PhD

Apply to do Research in Jhb

Do you want to do research in the facilities of the Johannesburg Health District?

Please start by filling an application on the National Health Research Database (NHRD). Look at NHRD Access steps if you have security issues. See the Researcher Manual (PHRC 2017) to guide you as well.

The application can be deemed incomplete (see below) especially if ethics approval is not provided. We try to help you to apply to Jhb DRC concurrently with your ethics application. You may be forced to upload ethics before completing the NHRD form. Add 1234567 as your ethics number and upload a letter indicating that you will be applying for ethics or upload the ethics application acknowledgment email. This will allow your application to be concluded on NHRD.

Please make sure you select the exact clinics/CHCs in Johannesburg, Gauteng, and NOT just Johannesburg Health District (unless you want to gather data at the District Office). We DO NOT review applications for any hospitals except South Rand, Bheki Mlangeni, and Edenvale Hospitals. Ensure that you upload the full protocol (with tools), ethics approval, and SAHPRA approval (if they are available). Please ensure a clear summary is provided for a reviewer to understand your study under “Aims/objectives”. Please be very clear about how you will actually recruit your participants in our facilities under “Sampling”. Be very clear about the burden your research will place on facilities under the headings

  1. The additional load on district staff
  2. Use of facilities resources
  3. Impact on Patients
  4. Other

Please keep the email you receive from NHRD (with the NHRD reference number) safely.

Your application and related documents will be picked up from NHRD by the Jhb DRC Research Administrator as she checks daily. Members of the Jhb DRC will review applications within two weeks of application as a rule and provide an answer. If you don’t have ethics approval yet the Research Administrator will inform you of provisional approval. Only when we receive your ethics certificate (not “Conditional Approval”) will we send you an official approval letter. The official approval letter will be signed by the Chief Director, Johannesburg Health District, and/or the Executive Director, Health Department, City of Johannesburg. You should usually get a response within one week of reviewer approval and/or presenting your ethics approval. We urge you to upload your ethics certificate to the NHRD afterward.

If you are following up then please quote your NHRD reference number! You can email, call, or visit Busi Sikhosana at the Jhb DRC Office at Busisiwe.Sikhosana@gauteng.gov.za or (+27) 011 694 3909, Hillbrow CHC Administration Building, Klein Street, Hillbrow, Johannesburg to follow up. See more about the District Research Committee of Johannesburg Health District. If you have an NHRD query or need to edit your NHRD application please contact Mpho Lethata of Gauteng Province at Mpho.Lethata@gauteng.gov.za / Lethatampho@gmail.com or Dr. Lesibana Malinga of NDOH at NHRD@Health.gov.za

If you want to apply in other facilities or districts in Gauteng see below

Name of contact person Contact details
GAUTENG PROVINCE
Dr Ikalafeng Cell: 0824619354

Email: bridget.ikalafeng@gauteng.gov.za

Sellinah Dumela 0828294080

 

Cell: 0828294080

Email: Sellinah.Dumela@gauteng.gov.za

Ms Tsholofelo Adelekan Cell: 0722304542

Tsholofelo.Adelekan@gauteng.gov.za

Mr. Mpho Lethata  

Email: Mpho.Lethata@gauteng.gov.za / Lethatampho@gmail.com

Ms. Chuchi  Makhubele Cell: 078 802 0670

Email: chuchimakhubelework@gmail.com

 

CENTRAL HOSPITALS

Chris Hani Baragwanath Hospital Prof Yasmien Jeenah Cell: 0827846820

Email: Yasmien.Jeenah@gauteng.gov.za

Charlotte Maxeke Academic Hospital Prof Thifelimbilu Luvhengo Cell: 083 9952552

Thifelimbilu.Luvhengo@wits.ac.za

Steve Biko Academic Hospitals Dr Joseph Mangwane Cell: 0828310898

Joseph.Mangwane@gauteng.gov.za

Dr George Mukhari Academic Hospital Dr Christene Holm Cell: 076227051

Christene.Holm@gauteng.gov.za

 

TERTIARY HOSPITALS

Helen Joseph Hospital Dr Mukanzi Murumisi murimisi.mukansi@wits.ac.za
Kalafong Dr Sello Matjila Sello.Matjila@gauteng.gov.za
Tembisa Dr Lekopane Mogaladi Lekopane.Mogaladi@gauteng.gov.za
 

REGIONAL HOSPITALS

Leratong Dr. Moloi Cell: 081 044 6023

Email: Dieketseng.Moloi@gauteng.gov.za

Edenvale Dr. Zitha Cell: 082 749 3123

Email: ZakheleGoodman.Zitha@gauteng.gov.za

Mamelodi Dr  Soe Cell: 0182 573 7113/ 012 841 8306

 

Far East Rand Dr. Mathaba Cell: 079 521 6621

Email: Zacharia.Mathaba@gauteng.gov.za

Raheema Moosa Prof Coovadia Cell: 082 927 9097

Email: Ashraf.Coovadia@wits.ac.za

Tambo Memorial Dr. Ndabula Cell: 082 376 9564

Email: Zenzo.Ndabula2@gauteng.gov.za

Thelle Mogoerane Dr. Malaka Cell: 083 300 4112

Email: Michael.Malaka@gauteng.gov.za

Pholosong Dr. Makgana Cell: 060 712 8912

Email: Nthabiseng.Makgana@gauteng.gov.za

Dr. Ngwenya Cell: 083 892 9818

Email: Gugulethu.Ngwenya@gauteng.gov.za

Sebokeng Ms Madolo Cell: 079 498 0044

Email:Makibiti.Madolo@gauteng.gov.za

 

DISTRICTS

Tshwane Dr Mpho Moshime /

Dr Manei Letebele

 

Cell:0824965509

Email: Mpho.Moshime@gauteng.gov.za

Cell: 0769433048

Email: Manei.Letebele@gauteng.gov.za

Mr Troy Mashabela Tel: 012 451 9036/9000

Email: Troy.Mashabela@gauteng.gov.za

Johannesburg Professor Shabir Moosa Cell: 0824466825

Email: Shabir@profmoosa.com

Busisiwe Sikhosana Tel: 011 694 3909 / 0769122458

Email: Busisiwe.Sikhosana@gauteng.gov.za

Ekurhuleni Dr Ronel Kelleman Cell: 0849746051

Email: Ronel.Kelleman@gauteng.gov.za

Ms Mpho Manamela Tel: 067 159 9662 / 068 174 9462 /

011 878 8617

Email: Mpho.Manamela@gauteng.gov.za

Sedibeng Professor Olufemi Omole Cell: 0764721289

Email: Babatunde.Omole@gauteng.gov.za

Mpho Ngubane Tel:

Email: Mpho.Ngubane@gauteng.gov.za

West Rand Dr Wenegieme Tel: 0783993190

Email: doctoreggy@yahoo.com

Nonkululeko Ngwenya Email: 0810140413

Nonkululeko.Ngwenya@gauteng.gov.za

%d bloggers like this: